00:00 (zero o'clock)

time travel

while i wish time travel was real (do i?), i don't mean that kind of time travel.

the weather around golden hour lately reminds me of korea - my surroundings certainly don't but the weather does, because i often went in the summer, and the weather during the summer nights felt just the way it does nowadays around here.
i also think i associate the good weather to the good memories i had there, and it makes me feel really happy overall; a very heart-fluttering feeling.

have you ever listened to a song and it reminded you of a core memory, or just a period in your life?
i think i also mentioned in a previous post about how our sense of smell is most closely linked with our memories, and how the smell of the library takes me back.
so many things often remind me of a certain time in my life, both good and bad.

there's a song that i love (4 O'Clock by RM and V of BTS), but it reminds me of the time when i took a gap year and flew to korea on my own and spent many nights secretly very lonely, unable to sleep unless i listened to that song.
so sometimes i get a bit sad when i listen to the song, even now, 7 years later.

in a few months i'm going to korea and japan!
it's the first time i'm going with my boyfriend and friends from america so i'm excited.
we found an airbnb in tokyo near an area where my friend used to live - she used to study abroad in japan, and i would stay with her when i visited.
it definitely took me back to when we used to go see shows from korean idol groups who hadn't debuted yet, and how we were able to see them often enough for them to remember who we were because the shows were cheap.
i don't follow these people anymore, but it made me wonder how they're doing now.
i remember i was really happy during these times, exploring japan with my friend and seeing cute guys perform lol.

while i can't actually go back to some of these times despite wanting to, whether they were good or bad, i look back on most of them fondly.
they shaped me to be who i am today, and taught me a lot.
one of my favorite quotes from the office is, "i wish there was a way to know you're in the good old days before you've actually left them."
i wish there was a way too, because some of these times were really the good old days for me.
but since there's no way to know, and no way to go back and relive them, this'll have to do for now.

#feelings #memories #thoughts #travel