00:00 (zero o'clock)

dog collars, jellyfish, and checkerboard bags

idk, feeling kind of low again lately, even though we raised the dosage on my medication.
maybe it's because of the weather getting cold again, or because i haven't gone to the gym in a few weeks because i injured my hand (nothing too serious).
my therapist and i said i would let myself rest until april, and then we could see if my mood has been stable and if so i would start to study then.
i think deadlines and timers give me massive anxiety; i struggle often to fall asleep when i set an alarm, and wake up before the alarm rings.
my medication masks the physical symptoms of my anxiety, but there's still that feeling of dread in my heart.
i don't think i'm ready.

but i know i can't be jobless and stay in my bed forever, and i want to get a job, i want to move out, etc etc.
the hardest part is that i know i want all this and yet i can't get myself to start.

one thing that has been working out for me though is crocheting.
i don't know what's different here, but unlike most of my other hobbies where i start and then get immediately disappointed in my products, i'm actually going through with my projects.
i started off with little things: four-leaf clovers, coasters, ribbons.
but i decided to try and make cute dog collars for my friend's dogs since i was going over to her apartment one day.
they weren't perfect because i'm still new to crocheting, but i was proud of myself for finishing something.
my friend was really happy with them and had the dogs wear them for other guests as well, who complimented them.

i also spontaneously made a jellyfish after seeing a tutorial pop up on my youtube, and i was super satisfied with the results.
i posted it on my instagram story and a friend actually asked me if i take commissions!
i told her i'm not at that level yet, but if she wanted a jellyfish i would gladly make her one.
so i did! and i found out she loves jellyfish, so i was happy to have made her happy.
although i said she didn't need to pay me, she sent me $10, which was nice.

my current project is a checkerboard drawstring bag, based on another tutorial i saw on youtube.
it's the first time i'm using two different colors of yarn and alternating them, so it was a bit daunting at first, but turned out to be really simple.
it's the biggest thing i've ever made and although it's not perfect, it looks pretty nice so far.

as a perfectionist and someone who want's to be good at everything, completing projects is huge.
other parts of my life may be at a standstill which hurts, but i'm proud of my creations and the fact that i've completed these projects and put them out for the world to see.

#anxiety #crochet #depression #mental health #thoughts